Thursday 23 November 2017

Cloughbawn clinch the Division 4A crown

Cloughbawn collected the Division 4A crown in record-breaking time on Sunday when they saw off their nearest pursuers St. Joseph's.

The team, managed by Jimmy O'Sullivan and Jason Murphy, have been in scintillating form all season, winning twelve, drawing two and only losing one of their games to date, scoring 48 goals in the process.

Michael Kehoe and Ricky Blackburn bagged two goals apiece in their latest victory, to leave them in the unusual position of celebrating title success in early January.

It's unlikely that it will be the last piece of silverware to be won by the club this season, with their first team sitting proudly on top of Division 2A.

It has been a fruitful period for the club, with the U-19s winning their league last season, the Under-18s finishing as runners-up and the ladies claiming a league and cup double.

Shamrock Rovers boosted their promotion hopes with a 5-2 win over Rosslare Port, with Pa Redmond, Derek Whelan, Tony Kenny, Michael Clinton and Dylan Shanahan all scoring for the Enniscorthy outfit.

Fionn Doyle and Higor Garcez got the goals for Boolavogue as they beat Taghmon 2-0, while Bree United picked up an important three points by overcoming Ajax Athletic 5-0 with Seán Ring and Graham Parker both scoring doubles and Darragh Byrne also hitting the back of the net.

Wexford People

Promoted Links