Saturday 24 February 2018

Cormac's claim Gaynor Cup

St Cormac's 3, Cushintown AFC 0: The ability to take chances in front of goal was the main difference between the sides as St. Cormac's lifted the Gaynor Cup for the second time in the club's history.

Cushinstown started well and enjoyed the better of the possession in the opening 20 minutes but, despite creating some decent chances, they were unable to convert them into goals.

St. Cormac's came more and more into the game and just on the half-hour mark, Caitríona Roban struck to give them the lead. Bernie McCarthy came on just before half-time and made an immediate impact, with the Cushinstown defence finding her a bit of a handful to manage.

Early in the second-half, she struck to make it 2-0 and with 20 minutes remaining she made it 3-0 and killed off an entertaining final as a contest.

Cushinstown will be disappointed to have lost 3-0 as the game was closer than the scoreline suggests, but St. Cormac's were the better team with Bernie McCarthy collecting a well-deserved player of the match award.

The following have been voted players of the year in their various divisions in the Wexford Women's League: Premier Division, Bríd Doyle (Seaview United); Division 1, Katrina Parrock (Kilmore United); Division 2A, Suzanne Foley (All Blacks); Division 2B, Ciara Byrne (Moyne Rangers).

The following collected top scorer awards: Premier Division, Liz Evered (Ferns United) and Jenny Brennan (East End United); Division 1, Katrina Parrock (Kilmore United); Division 2A, Niamh O'Leary (Camolin Celtic) and Britney Conroy (Bunclody A.F.C.); Division 2B, Siobhán Grant-Moorehead (Moyne Rangers).

All will be presented with their awards in the Riverside Park Hotel on Friday, June 19.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links