Friday 20 September 2019

Leading ladies honoured at awards

Friday saw the Wexford Women's League hold its annual presentation night in the Riverside Park Hotel, with several awards presented to the various winners of divisional awards. The player of the years and top scorer awards for Wexford Youths Women were also presented, with the Continental Tyres National League trophy also on display.

League Administrator Peter Doyle opened proceedings and welcomed everyone while giving a quick synopsis on the success of the league this season, with Ferns United winning the Leinster Cup while East End United were Leinster Shield winners.

He also congratulated Wexford Youths on their success in winning the National League while wishing them the best of luck in the draw for the Champions League. League Chairman Daire Doyle echoed those sentiments while congratulating all award winners and wishing all the clubs the best of luck for the coming season.

Wexford Youths Women's manager Willie Doyle then spoke on behalf of the club and complimented the league on forming the club four years previously and looking after it for the first three years before handing over to Wexford Youths A.F.C. He was delighted that the league and club continued to work together, with the presentation night a good example of the co-operation between both parties.

The club then presented their awards with Becky Cassin picking up the young player of the year fromPeter Doyle while Claire O'Riordan collected the top scorer award. Unfortunately, Claire was unable to attend as she was in Dublin training with the Republic of Ireland squad travelling to the World Student Games next month, and the award was collected on her behalf by Youths Supporters' Club Chairman Barry Devereux.

The club player of the year award went to Edel Kennedy who had been very impressive all season, and this was presented to her by Barry Dempsey and Adrian Kehoe.

The league then presented their various divisional awards with Moyne Rangers doing the double in Division 2B as Siobhán Grant-Moorehead won top scorer while Claire Byrne picked up the player of the year award. All Blacks' Suzanne Furlong collected the player of the year award in Division 2A with Britney Conroy of Bunclody A.F.C. and Niamh O'Leary of Camolin Celtic finishing joint top scorer in the division.

Katrina Parrock from Kilmore United did the double in Division 1 when she collected both the player of the year and top scorer awards. East End United's Jenny Brennan and Liz Evered of Ferns United were joint top scorers in the Premier Division, with Liz collecting a top scorer award for the ninth time in ten years.

Bríd Doyle of Seaview United was a well-deserved winner of the Premier Division player of the year after an excellent season with her club, enjoying a competitive league and reaching the Wexford Cup final.

The league also presented a hall of fame award to Benfica F.C. who are celebrating an incredible 50 years in women's soccer this season, and club stalwart Betty Maher was on hand to collect it on behalf of the Waterford side. The club have played in the original National League which was played in the seventies, the Munster Senior League, Waterford League, D.W.S.L., and joined the Wexford League in 2001.

A club of the year award was presented for the first time, with several criteria on and off the field required to win including co-operation with the league, financial compliance, behaviour on and off the field as well as support of the female game within the club. Several clubs went close including All Blacks, Ballindaggin, Seaview United and Tombrack United, but St. Leonards were the club who did just enough to win the first-ever award.

The league would like to thank everyone who attended one of the best-attended award nights in recent years and also thank the Riverside Park Hotel for the use of their facilities.

Next weekend will see the Wexford Schoolgirls League Under-16 squad travel to University of Limerick to participate in the F.A.I. Inter-League Gaynor Cup.

Manager Laura Heffernan will be quietly confident that she has put together a squad well able to compete with all players currently injury free.

They open their campaign on Friday evening with a tough group game against Galway, followed by an early game on Saturday against Cork at 9.30 a.m., and completing their group stage against North East Counties at 3 p.m. on Saturday.

Their Sunday games will depend on their finishing position in the group, with the winners of each group participating in the cup semi-finals, and although the group would be considered a tough one, the squad is strong and is well capable of producing some good results.

All involved in Wexford soccer wish the squad the very best of luck, and keep an eye on our Facebook page for up to date results.

Squad: Sadbh McCarthy (Curracloe United), Sophie Lenehan (Killenagh Wanderers), Alannah Anglim (North End United), Natasha Byrne-Rossiter (Curracloe United), Suzie Byrne (Cloughbawn), Niamh Browne (St. Leonards), Megan Cahill (Killenagh Wanderers), Britney Conroy (Bunclody), Aoife Codd (Cloughbawn), Aoife Devereux (Cloughbawn), Siobhán Doolan (Curracloe United), Leah Furlong (Cloughbawn), Kate Hendrick (Bunclody), Danielle Hanney (Gorey Rangers), Eimeir Mernagh (Cloughbawn), Kate Murphy (Cloughbawn), Chloe Mythen (Bridge Rovers), Rachel Scannell (Curracloe United), Lauren Roche (North End United), Amy Wilson (Gorey Rangers).

Manager: Laura Heffernan. Coaches: Dave O'Shea, Michael Bennett, Rianna Jarrett.

The league's A.G.M. will be held in the Riverside Park Hotel on Friday, July 10, at 8 p.m. Any clubs wishing to put forward motions or nominate anyone for the committee can do so on the form sent out by our League Secretary.

Wexford People