Sunday 20 October 2019

'Legends' team is unveiled at launch

■ THE WEXFORD Football League 50 year book was officially launched by former League Secretary, Oscar Traynor manager, and People Newspapers journalist, Johnny Roche, in the Riverside Park Hotel in Enniscorthy on Sunday night.

Four of the original committee from 50 years ago were in attendance along with Dennis Cruise, Honorary Secretary, FAI Junior Council.

The book contains a lot of fine photos and information about the actual start up of the League in April, 1960, along with details of most of the clubs who play or have played in Wexford.

Contributors include David Blood, President FAI, John Delaney C.E.O., FAI, Eamonn Scott, Evening Herald, Mikey Carthy, Echo, Dave Devereux, People Newspapers, Nicky Delaney and Mick Wallace among others. Copies are available from committee members priced at ¤10.

The Legends team selected was: Tommy Walsh (Wexford Bohs), Dermot Byrne (North End), Mark Goodison (Park Hotspur), John 'Brad' O'Neill (New Ross Celtic), Joe Brazil (New Ross Celtic), Mick Millar (Ajax), Tom 'Flash' Dunne (Ajax), Wayne O'Leary (Rosslare Rangers), Brendan Dunne (Park Rangers), Paul Harrington (New Ross Celtic) and Nicky Jones (North End).

The winner of the competition (for two premium tickets to the new Aviva Stadium) to name as many as possible of the selected 'legends' team was Liz Walsh, Grange, Bannow, Co. Wexford.

Most Read