Friday 19 January 2018

Port spot on in tense decider

Browne Cup won on penos

Brendan Furlong

Aaron Corish (Rosslare Port) and Jimmy Colfer clash in the air
Aaron Corish (Rosslare Port) and Jimmy Colfer clash in the air
Fasnet Rovers squad
Micheal O'Brien of Fastnet Rovers watches Jamie McMahon (Rosslare Port)
Rosslare Port, the newly-crowned Billy Browne Cup champions

Rosslare Port held their nerve in the penalty shoot-out to eventually emerge victorious over Fastnet Rovers in the Billy Browne Cup final at the Rosslare Rangers pitch on Sunday.

Rosslare Port 1 Fastnet Rovers 1 (Rosslare 5-3 pens)

Both sides were faced with a battle in the windy conditions which was very much evident in their play during the opening 45 minutes in particular.

One could not fault the effort or commitment of either side but the respective back fours were in control during that opening half. Mick Barry and Lee Harpur were dominant at the back for Port, with Darren Walsh and P.J. Fanning commanding the centre of defence for Fastnet.

As a result both sides were confined to long-range efforts on goal, with Port 'keeper Stephen Breen doing well to keep out a Niall Walsh 20th-minute effort, while at the opposite end Mark Flood forced a fine save out of 'keeper Corrol and the sides went in 0-0 at the interval.

With Port's Jamie McMahon becoming more influential as the game progressed, it was fitting that he opening the scoring 15 minutes from the end when he beat the 'keeper from close range to make it 1-0.

While it looked as if Port would prevail with that one goal, Fastnet had other ideas and a Niall Doyle header six minutes from the end brought the game to extra-time.

Neither side managed a winner in extra-time but Port held their nerve to eventually win out 5-3 on penalties and lift the trophy.

Rosslare Port: Stephen Breen, Seán McRobin, Lee Harpur, Mick Barry, Arral Cseri, Neil Howlin, Damien Breslin, Mick Browne, Aaron Corish, Mark Flood, Jamie McMahon. Subs. - Shane Lawless, Mark Donoghue, Alan Walsh, Keith Denton, Adam Pitman.

Fastnet Rovers: Atuto Corrol, Ray Kelly, Michael O'Brien, Darren Walsh, P.J. Fanning, Paul Molro, Dee Kenny, Niall Doyle, Jimmy Colfer, Gary Doran, Kevin Walsh. Subs. - Donal Colfer, Brian McGovern, Gavin Howlett, Aaron Power, Josh Cloney.

Referee: Eric Molloy.

Wexford People

Promoted Links