Saturday 21 September 2019

Shelburne dominant in Division 5

SOME PROGRESS has been made towards the playing of the semi-finals and finals of the mixed league. For the divisions now finalised, semi-finals will be played at Ramsgrange on January 30 starting at 5 p.m., and finals will commence at 7 p.m.

In Webb Sports Division 6, the lineup for the semi-finals is Taghmon A v. Terrerath A and Ballycogley v. Davidstown.

Martin Scallan and Sons Division 5 has been dominated by the Shelburne club. Their A team will play their B team in one semi-final while the D team take on the C team in the other.

The finalists in New Ross Community Workshop Division 2 are Taghmon and Shelburne.

The other divisions are not yet finalised and the play-off dates are expected to be fixed for early February. The position in Wexford Field Products Division 4 is very tight, with the finalists likely to come from Shelburne A, Ballykillen A or Shelburne B.

New Ross have already qualified for the final of the Remax South East Properties division, with either Shelburne A or Gorey likely to come through to meet them there.

Road Dog Couriers Division 1 is still totally unclear due to a number of postponed matches, and league organiser Eddie Kent is hopeful the picture will be clearer in the next week.

Entry forms for the ladies' and gents' league have been issued to all clubs. Although the closing date for entries has passed, entries received immediately will be accepted.


Meanwhile, Wexford starts its intercounty campaign with three teams announced. In Class 1 Wexford are paired with Wicklow, Meath and Kilkenny and will play off in Roundwood. The top two counties will qualify for the final.

The panel to travel, announced by manager Colm Byrne, is Philip Walsh (Taghmon), Nicholas Murphy (Taghmon), Thomas Power (Shelburne), Chris McMackin (Shelburne), Frankie Morrissey (Eagles), Clodagh Kent (Taghmon), Ciara Dunne (Taghmon) and Ailish O'Hanlon (Shelburne).

In Class 3, Wexford will play off against Laois and Kilkenny with the top two teams qualifying for semi-final places. Matches will take place at Carlow L.T.C.

The panel under the management of John Joe Murphy and Frankie Morrissey is Paudie Foran (Shelburne), Tony Sinnott (Shelburne), Craig Healy (Shelburne), Lee Healy, Deirdre O'Connor (Shelburne), Aoife Bennett (New Ross), Imelda Kehoe (St. Martin's) and Carole Murphy (Shelburne).

The Class 5 team travel to Vicarstown to take on Westmeath and Kilkenny with the top two teams advancing to the semi-final. Selectors Olive Waters and Helen Butler have announced the following panel:

Ciarán Doyle (Shelburne), Benny Lawler (Gorey), Ivor O'Brien (Shelburne), Paddy Wallace (Shelburne), Lorraine Dunne (Shelburne), Polly McNiven (Gorey), Chantal Rowe (Shelburne), Orla Scallan (St. Martin's), Helen Shalloe (Shelburne).