Saturday 24 February 2018

Taghmon's tight edge

Youth Division 4

In one of the hardest-fought title run-ins in the Wexford Football Leagues this past season, Taghmon edged out Wexford Bohemiens 'B' to take the Youth Division 4 honours.

As it happens, Taghmon were preparing for a play-off having completed their series of games ahead of their title rivals. However, Bohs could only manage a draw, when they needed victory in their final game against Forth Celtic, and Taghmon were champions.

It was the first silverware for this group since the majority of them won a league title in the Schoolboys Leagues in the Under-12 age group. They had struggled against title rivals Bohs, losing both league games, before beating them in the cup.

That run in the knockout competition was ended in the second round but only by eventual champions North End. During the season Taghmon also had several impressive performances, particularly in away wins at Bree, Bunclody, Kilmore and Blackwater, all of which came in a run of five straight victories.

The champions were solidified at the back by the excellent Stephen O'Keeffe while Shane Lacey excelled in the centre of midfield. Darren Hayden and Barry McGrath also stood out as key players for the league winners. Goal of the season went to Anthony Doyle for his screamer against Bree.

Several of the side are still under-age next season and, with the addition of a few new players coming up from their impressive Under-16 side which won the Division 2A title themselves, the future looks bright for the Foulksmills-based club.

Squad: Eoin McLoughlin, Stephen O'Keeffe, David O'Keeffe, Anthony Doyle, Jack Dunne, Darren Hayden, Ian Carty, Neil Beaver, Daniel Furlong, Anthony Roche, Eoin Banville, Shane Lacey, Johnny Murphy, Peter Murphy, Barry McGrath, Stephen O'Gorman (Taghmon), Stephen O'Gorman (Camross).

Management: Seán Hayden, Joey Cardiff, John Doyle.

Wexford People

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links