Saturday 25 November 2017

Wexford suffer a heavy defeat

FAI Youth Inter-League at Annacotty

The Wexford Football League went down to a heavy defeat in this season's youth inter-league quarter-final at a cold and wet Annacotty in Limerick on Sunday.

Limerick League 7 Wexford football league 1

The Limerick League controlled this game from the start, creating several chances before they took the lead on ten minutes when the visitors' 'keeper did well to push a close-range drive onto the bar, but Dylan Kenny followed up and headed in the loose ball.

Wexford drew level after 16 minutes as a free-kick from the left bounced around in the area and Darren Fortune lashed the loose ball in from 15 yards. Limerick went back in front three minutes later as David Hannon found himself free in the area and he drilled the ball into the net off the far post.

The same player made it 3-1 on the half hour mark when he ran through and chipped the ball over the advancing 'keeper.

Dean Shinners should have increased their lead when he hit the post when well placed.

Wexford showed some improvement at the start of the second-half with a few half chances created. The best of these saw Jamie Thomas head over following a corner-kick after 60 minutes.

David Hannon completed his hat-trick on 65 minutes when he fired home from twelve yards following a long clearance not being dealt with by the visitors' defence.

Kirwan in the visitors' goal did well on several occasions to keep the scoreline down but was helpless to prevent Limerick from adding three further goals in the closing minutes from substitutes Aaron Murphy and two from Trevor Daly.

Limerick deserved their victory as they showed their opponents what can be achieved by hard work, effort and team spirit.

This Wexford squad has worked hard to get to this stage and they now realise what it takes to compete at the top level.

A minute's silence was observed before the start of the game as a mark of respect to the late Pat Whitty, Administrator of the Wexford Football League.

Limerick: Seán McNamara, Seamus Maloney, Ben Quirke, Dylan Sheehan, Clive Healy, Steve Daly, Dylan Kennedy, Anthony Barrett, David Hannon, Dean Shinners, Jack Barry. Subs. used - Aaron Murphy and Trevor Daly.

Wexford: Ronan Kirwan, Lee Busher, Kieron Kelly, Darragh O'Connor, Kevin Quigley, James Costello, Jamie Thomas, Ryan Byrne, Connal Flood, Darren Fortune, Joshua O'Byrne. Subs. used - Dion Murphy, Jack Michaels and Yawa Aboayge.

Referee: Gary Fitzgerald.

Assistants: Gavin Keyes and John Ferncombe (Waterford Branch).

Wexford People

Promoted Links