Sunday 17 December 2017

Vols, Fethard and Martin's take titles in Wexford Park

THREE UNDER-AGE finals took place in Wexford Park recently, starting with the Under-14 Division 4 final between Monageer-Boolavogue and Volunteers which the town team won after a close match by 2-3 to 2-2.

The second final was between Fethard St. Mogue's and Starlights in Under-16 Division 2 and it was the south county side who prevailed by 3-12 to 4-4. The last final was Under-16 Division 1 between St. Martin's and Taghmon-Camross, and the girls in maroon took home the trophy by 3-10 to 1-8.


Volunteers 2-3, Monageer-Boolavogue 2-2: The first game between Monageer-Boolavogue and Volunteers was always close, and the former started very quickly and had two goals on the board by the third minute courtesy of Emma O'Dowd from a 13-metre free and Aisling Gahan who pounced on a loose ball and kicked to the net. MonageerBoolavogue should have been further ahead (seven wides in the firsthalf) before the Vols got on the scoreboard with a point from Caoimhe O'Sullivan, which was how it remained at the break.

The Volunteers now had the breeze at their backs and they made good use of it, with Aoife Kelly becoming a big influence. She scored a point from a 20-metre free before setting up Caoimhe O'Sullivan for a good goal.

She goaled herself from a penalty in the eleventh minute to put her side two points up and a couple of minutes later she scored a point from play to put them further ahead. As with Monageer-Boolavogue in the first-half, they were guilty of nine wides and were nearly made pay with two late points from Emma O'Dowd and Charlotte Bruce. Unfortunately for Monageer-Boolavogue, time ran out and the Volunteers held out for a one-point win.

Volunteers: Sally Walker; Ciara Rafter, Ciara Cullinane, Aoife Dwyer; Emily Kelly, Niamh Buckley (capt.), Chloe McGrath; Ciara O'Riordan, Julia Dempsey; Rachel Foley, Erin Crosbie, Eve Hession; Caoimhe O'Sullivan (1-1), Caoimhe O'Keeffe, Aoife Kelly (1-2). Subs. - Clodagh Bruen, Doireann O'Sullivan, Sinéad Rafter, Sadhbh Cullinane, Sarah O'Leary, Sally Bruen, Caithlin Savage, Johanna North, Chloe McGuire, Hannah Hynes, Megan Dempsey, Aisling O'Sullivan, Freya Murphy, Tara Cullinane, Leadh Dwyer, Aisling O'Sullivan, Amy Therese McMahon, Maeve Buckley, Elva Flynn, Ailbhe Cullinane.

Monageer-Boolavogue: Gráinne McCabe; Emma Mernagh, Mairéad Fortune, Katie Fenlon; Aoife Kehoe (capt.), Katie Breen, Charlotte Bruce (0-1); Emma O'Dowd (1-1), Michelle Kehoe; Ailbhe Nolan, Sinéad Gahan, Alice Fenlon; Kate De Leacy, Aisling Gahan (1-0), Sarah Figgis. Subs. - Rosie O'Loughlin, Saibhe Murphy, Ciara McBride.

Referee: Francis Neville (Shelmalier).


Fethard St. Mogue's 3-12, Starlights 4-4: Fethard St. Mogue's and Starlights were next on the field in the Under-16 Division 2 final, and Starlights had first use of the breeze. Fethard's Stephanie Foley was first on the scoreboard with a point, only for Starlights to reply with a Kasey Mahon point.

Fethard went ahead with two points from Eimear Mullan and Fiona Rowe before Starlights had a purple patch when full-forward Gemma Gainford scored two goals and a point, the first goal after a string of passes up the field and the second after being set up by Anna Flood.

They were rocked though when Fethard went ahead with two goals from Stephanie Foley and Eimear Whelan. Just before the break Aideen Byrne converted a 20-metre free for Starlights to leave the sides level at the break.

Starlights got off to a flyer in the second-half when Aideen Byrne scored two goals within three minutes of the re-start. Fethard didn't panic and were level again ten minutes later with points from Sorcha Ryan, Stephanie Foley (three) and Fiona Rowe (two).

They could have been further ahead when they were awarded a penalty but it was well saved by Cassie O'Rourke in the Starlights goal. Fethard kept plugging away with three more points before Fiona Rowe sealed it with goal from another penalty just before the end. Starlights got the last score with a Kasey Mahon point before Seán Whelan brought an end to proceedings.

Fethard St. Mogue's: Ciara Roche; Katie Kelly, Elaine Whelan (capt.), Rachel Whelan; Louise Carroll, Siobhán Rowe, Isabel Auld; Rose Wallace, Eimear Mullan (0-1); Kate Barry, Eimear Whelan (1-0), Aoife Roche; Fiona Rowe (1-5), Sorcha Ryan (0-1), Stephanie Foley (1-5). Subs. - Rebecca Foley, Chloe Waters, Ciara Nolan, Kathryn Whelan, Sarah O'Donoghue, Luis Schoenmann, Zoe Bates.

Starlights: Cassie O'Rourke; Mary Roche, Ciara Morrissey, Aine Broaders; Ruth Harrington, Ciara Byrne, Aoife McCrea; Jessica Flood (capt.), Leah Walsh; Emma Kidd, Aideen Byrne (2-1), Aoife Fanning; Anna Flood, Gemma Gainford (2-1), Kasey Mahon (0-2). Subs. - Katie Owen, Trish Doyle, Una Wall, Sorcha Murphy, Caoimhe Wall, Leah Wall, Sarah Doyle, Evelyn Fenlon, Katie Breen, Siobhán Fanning, Sinéad Grant-Moorehouse.

Referee: Seán Whelan (St. Martin's).


St. Martin's 3-10, Taghmon-Camross 1-8: The last game was the eagerly-anticipated Under-16 Division 1 final between favourites St. Martin's and Taghmon-Camross. St. Martin's were quickly into their stride with two points from Eimear Doherty and Rachel Bridges.

Taghmon-Camross were on the scoreboard not long after when Aisling Whelan pointed though St. Martin's tagged on another three points to keep them on the front foot. Taghmon-Camross then took the lead with two points from Brona Murphy and Sarah Banville before Aisling Whelan's shot from over 40metres out ended up in the St. Martin's net.

Aisling Cronin responded when she scored a fine goal after soloing in from half way. Taghmon-Camross were making a game of it and levelled up soon after with two points from Ellen O'Brien and Brona Murphy. This was as close as they got though as the Martin's finished the half stronger with an Aisling Cronin point and an Aisling McAuliffe goal to leave the score at the break 2-6 to 1-5.

Aisling Whelan converted a 20-metre free to put a goal between the teams two minutes into the new half, and they could have pulled level when they were awarded a penalty, but Sarah Banville's shot was well saved by Aoife McAuliffe in the St. Martin's goal. Both teams swopped two points each before Aisling Cronin scored a goal after a good run from Ciara Rossiter, and this finally knocked the wind out of TaghmonCamross. St. Martin's finished the scoring with a point each from Ciara Rossiter and the impressive Aisling Cronin.

St. Martin's: Aoife McAuliffe; Rosie Nolan, Muireann Byrne, Lauren Carty; Katie O'Connor, Elsa McDermott, Rachel Cantwell; Amy Cardiff (0-1), Ellen Barrett; Rachel Bridges (capt., 0-1), Eimear Doherty (0-2), Aoife Rossiter (0-1); Aisling Cronin (2-2), Aisling McAuliffe (1-2), Mary Carroll. Subs. - Ciara Rossiter (0-1), Katie Lawlor, Aoife Daly, Shannon Meade, Hannah Frankis, Laura Doyle, Sarah Berney, Rachel Kehoe, Leona Johnson.

Taghmon-Camross: Róisín Nolan; Annie Stafford, Kacey Maher, Emma Shannon; Michelle Rowe, Amy Dee, Clare O'Gorman; Sarah Banville (capt., 0-1), Eimear McGovern; Ellen O'Brien (0-2), Aisling Whelan (1-3), Ailish Sinnott; Brona Murphy (0-2), Edwina Whelan, Casey McGrath. Subs. - Jessie Doyle, Rachel Delaney, Aoibhinn Butler, Gillian Banville, Rebecca Rowe, Cloda Dee, Rachel Murray.

Referee: John Denton (Faythe Harriers).

Promoted Links

Most Read

Promoted Links