Sunday 22 September 2019

Wexford's greatest soccer player!


AS THE DRAMA continues at the European Championships we have decided, with your help, to run a poll to find Wexford's greatest adult soccer player as nominated by their clubs.

Have a read through the list below, reflect on the great and talented characters that we have been privileged to witness grace our soccer fields over the past 50 years – some of whom are still playing today. Then select your all-time favourite and register your vote.

Every club still operating in the Wexford league was approached and asked to put forward a nomination to represent them.

However, a small number of clubs opted not to participate. In order to find the greatest Wexford player we also included two wildcard nominations, Danny Furlong and Gary Dempsey, as they had not played adult competition in the Wexford league.

We'd like to thank all the clubs that helped get the competition up and running, and may the greatest player win.


Kilmore United - Seán Bates Courtown Hibs – Leighton Gleeson Enniscorthy United – Tom Murphy (Irish St.) Castledockrell – Paddy Nolan New Ross Celtic – Paul Cashin St. Leonards – Peter Culleton Wexford Bohs – Martin Crowley Cushinstown AFC – Ian Gaffney Killenagh Wanderers – David Doyle Rosbercon United – Adrian 'Peg' Foley Fastnet Rovers – Liam 'Whacker' Murphy Park Rangers – Brendan Dunne New Ross Town – Paul Rossiter Corach Ramblers – Phil Walsh Park Hotspur – Mark Goodison Enniscorthy Town – Danny O'Rourke Ajax Athletic – Tom 'Flash' Dunne

The Ballagh – John Dunne Caim United – Tommy Clince Shelburne United – Pat O'Neill

Adamstown – Kevin Doyle Moyne Rangers – Seán Nolan Ballindaggin FC – Seamus Jordan Shamrock Rovers – Paul 'Nobby' Moorehouse Campile United – Graham 'Dax' Howlin Blackwater – James Doyle Rosslare Port – Niall Ellard Galbally – Frank Rochford Bunclody – Barry Murphy St. Cormac's – Marty Kelly Ferns United – Mick Brennan Orrill United – James Byrne Rathnure United – David Carney Rosslare Strand – Martin Wallace Gorey Rangers – Shane Dunbar Taghmon United – Paddy Fitzpatrick

Rosslare Rangers – Kevin Driver Ballymurn Celtic – Stephen Redmond Gorey Celtic – Michael Murphy Duncannon – Michael Donnelly

All Blacks – Peter Lee Stoney Rovers – Jimmy Doyle Camolin Celtic – Jimmy Smith Crossabeg – John 'Stack' Lacey Tombrack United – James Newe

Raheen – James Furlong Curracloe United – Killian Connor

Bree United – Denis Kennedy Fethard Rangers – Georgie Foley Bridge Rovers – Dermot Keane

North End - Dermot Byrne Wexford Youths - Danny Furlong Waterford United - Gary Dempsey

Most Read