Thursday 18 January 2018

Gorey girls break Kilkenny hearts

THE LEINSTER Senior camogie championship final round game between Gorey Community School and Abbey Community College was held in Gorey recently. The December sunshine led to excellent playing conditions.

Gorey C.S., trained by Mary Leacy, Fionán Casey and Muireann McCarthy, commenced the clash under fierce attack from the visitors. Tara Leacy and Shannon Doyle darted at the defence but their efforts were thwarted by the formidable backs, especially Donna Morrissey and Catríona O'Brien.

Gorey struck some bad wides and after seven minutes Abbey goaled when Shannon Doyle assisted Leanne Purcell in slotting the ball past Róisín Wheatley. The work of Gorey's dynamic midfield duo, Anna Whitty and Hayley Murphy, soon revived hopes for the Wexford side.

The home team regained their composure and, after Mia Holles-Kavanagh's pointed free, Ellen Roche swiftly pointed. Another Roche point from a placed ball levelled the sides with 20 minutes gone.

Seconds later, Anna Whitty sped through the Abbey defence and rifled the ball to the net to give Gorey the lead for the first time. Orla Molloy added a point before the Kilkenny side pulled back a point from a Leanne Purcell free, leaving Gorey ahead at the break by 1-4 to 1-1.

A pointed free from Ellen Roche opened the secondhalf. Denise Byrne exemplified the intense Gorey C.S. pressure when she stormed through and pointed to the delight of the home crowd. Hayley Murphy picked out Mia Holles-Kavanagh for another point.

The combined efforts of Patti Roche and Kavanagh yielded a second goal for the Wexford side. While Leanne Purcell kept the visitors in touch with a pointed free, Patti Roche and Anna Whitty responded with points.

Abbey's Shannon Doyle weaved past the full-back line to secure a goal with four minutes remaining, but Hayley Murphy repaired the damage when she passed to Mia Holles Kavanagh who added her second major.

Gorey Community School have topped their group in an impressive fashion, and they will enter the knockout phase with high hopes.

Gorey C.S.: Róisín Wheatley (Naomh Eanna); Donna Morrissey (Castletown-Liam Mellows), Laura Cousins (Naomh Eanna), Aoife Hughes (Naomh Eanna); Ciara Goland (Castletown-Liam Mellows), Molly McGuckin (Naomh Eanna), Catríona O' Brien (Naomh Eanna); Hayley Murphy (Castletown-Liam Mellows), Anna Whitty (Craanford-Monaseed, 1-1); Ellen Roche (CastletownLiam Mellows, 0-3), Mia Holles-Kavanagh (Naomh Eanna, 2-2), Denise Byrne (Castletown-Liam Mellows, 01); Patti Roche (Castletown-Liam Mellows, 0-1), Eileen Byrne (Castletown-Liam Mellows), Orla Molloy (Naomh Eanna, 0-1). Subs. - Eilis Kelly, Róisín Egan, Caoimhe Molloy, Orla Crowe (all Naomh Eanna), Michelle Kinsella, Ellen Kinsella, Joanne Byrne, Amy Dowdall (all Castletown-Liam Mellows).

Abbey C.C.: Heather Doyle; Claire Buggy, Laura Dowling, Clare McEvoy; Lisa Phelan, Deirdre Walsh, Aisling Heffernan; Laura Flynn, Danielle Dempsey; Niamh Ahearne, Tara Leacy, Iona Heffernan; Leanne Purcell (12), Shannon Doyle (1-0), Danielle Kavanagh. Subs. - Niamh Kelly, Siobhán Molloy, Anne Hayden, Mairéad Kennedy, Hannah Irish, Kate Frisby, Eimear Buggy, Claire Purcell.

Promoted Links